Public Holidays in NSW

iCalendar Downloads

NSW Public Holidays 2023-2026

In determining workplace entitlements that apply on public holidays, employees/employers should always refer to the terms of the relevant industrial instrument (ie award, agreement or employment contract) and the National Employment Standards under the Fair Work Act 2009.

Holidays for NSW under the Public Holidays Act 2010

  2023 2024 2025 2026
New Year's Day Sunday, 1 January Monday, 1 January Wednesday, 1 January Thursday, 1 January
3 Additional Day Monday, 2 January      
2 Australia Day Thursday, 26 January Friday, 26 January Monday, 27 January Monday, 26 January
Good Friday Friday, 7 April Friday, 29 March Friday, 18 April Friday, 3 April
Easter Saturday  Saturday, 8 April Saturday, 30 March Saturday, 19 April Saturday, 4 April
Easter Sunday Sunday, 9 April Sunday, 31 March Sunday, 20 April Sunday, 5 April
Easter Monday Monday, 10 April Monday, 1 April Monday, 21 April Monday, 6 April
Anzac Day Tuesday, 25 April Thursday, 25 April Friday, 25 April Saturday, 25 April
King's Birthday Monday, 12 June Monday, 10 June Monday, 9 June Monday, 8 June
1 Bank Holiday Monday, 7 August Monday, 5 August Monday, 4 August Monday, 3 August
Labour Day Monday, 2 October Monday, 7 October Monday, 6 October Monday, 5 October
Christmas Day public holiday Monday, 25 December Wednesday, 25 December Thursday, 25 December Friday, 25 December
3 Additional Day        
Boxing Day Tuesday, 26 December Thursday, 26 December Friday, 26 December Saturday, 26 December
3 Additional Day       Monday, 28 December

1 Retail bank branches and certain financial institutions are required to remain closed on the first Monday in August (Bank Holiday) unless otherwise exempt - see Part 3A of the Retail Trading Act 2008. ‘Bank Holiday’ is included in this list because it has implications for the staffing of these institutions. See the Banks and Financial Institutions page of the Fair Trading website. Bank Holiday is not a declared public holiday.

2 The public holiday standard in the Public Holidays Act 2010 provides that when Australia Day (26 January) falls on a Saturday or Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day and instead the following Monday is to be the public holiday.

3 The public holiday standard in the Act provides that when New Year's Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a Saturday or Sunday there is to be an additional public holiday on the following Monday or Tuesday.

Print: NSW Public Holidays 2021-2023 (PDF, 127 KB)

Print: NSW Public Holidays 2024-2026 (PDF, 247 KB)


Public Holidays in NSW

Section 4 of the Public Holidays Act 2010 declares the standard public holidays that apply in NSW. Section 5 of the Act provides for the declaration of additional public holidays including public holidays for a part of the State. Section 8 of the Act provides for the declaration of a local event day in a local government area. Note that the declaration of a local event day does not make the local event day a public holiday.

NSW local public holidays or local event days

In addition to these listed standard public holidays that apply to the whole of NSW, there are also a small number of local public holidays and local event days that are declared from time to time in regional and rural NSW. These occasions may be declared on the application of a local council. They can be for a whole day or part of a day. Typically, they are requested by a council in order to recognise and facilitate attendance for a day of special significance to the local community such as an agricultural show or racing carnival.

Retail shop and bank trading restrictions

Enquiries regarding trading restrictions and exemptions for banks and retail shops should be directed to Fair Trading NSW on 13 32 20 or see this page on their website.

Workplace rights and responsibilities for national system employers and employees

Standard public holidays, including declared local public holidays, will have workplace relations implications under the National Employment Standard for public holidays as well as relevant awards and enterprise agreements. For further information contact the Fair Work Ombudsman.